Broccoli Cheese Soup

Happy New Year everyone! Now that it’s 2017, I have to remember to date everything 2017 instead of 16. I should be good by the time September rolls around…

Speaking of September, I made a soup today that is perfect for those chilly fall days, or those freezing wintery days. I always use my crockpot when making soups, or roasts, or chicken…okay who am I kidding, I use my crockpot for everything.

This soup came to me as I was cleaning out the fridge after Christmas. I had some broccoli and cauliflower left over and needed to use it some how. Today was the perfect day for it. I served it with hot rolls (Sister Shubert are my absolute favorite) but crackers would go well with it too, or even a bread bowl.


Broccoli Cheese Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 32 oz box of Vegetable broth (or half gallon of water)
  • 2 – 16 oz bag of broccoli (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 1/2 block of velveeta cheese (large box, store brand works fine)
  • 1 – 8 oz block cream cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In your crockpot, pour in your broth or water and add the broccoli. Set on LOW for four hours or HIGH for two hours.

Remove half the cooked broccoli and two cups of hot broth and blend until the consistency is the way you want it. Pour back into the crockpot. In your blender, add the cream cheese and velveeta, cut up, with two cups of broth. Blend until smooth and then pour into your crockpot. Cook at least another 30 minutes.

Serve with dinner rolls or crackers. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

