Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup

For a couple of years, I was a contributing writer/virtual assistant on my friend Phoebe’s site gettingfreedom.net and sometimes I posted some of my favorite recipes. This one is a definite go to recipe for my family, year round really, but especially on cold days like today. I make this soup many times throughout the year, it’s a relatively easy and healthy recipe. I don’t add salt to it, because the broth (or bullion cubes) and butter already contain enough salt. Sometimes I add more vegetables to it, but mostly, I stick with just carrots. It’s really all in what your family prefers.

This recipe was originally posted by me in August 2013.

Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 8 hours
Total Time: 8 hours, 10 minutes

 Homemade Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 10-12 uncooked boneless, skinless chicken tenders OR 3 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 stick of butter (OPTIONAL)
  • 4 chicken bullion cubes OR 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons pepper
  • 12 oz bag frozen carrot medallions
  • 1/4-1/2 bag of egg noodles

Directions:

  1. **IF YOU USE CHICKEN BROTH INSTEAD OF BULLION ADD IT BEFORE YOU ADD YOUR WATER. Place the chicken in the pot and fill with water almost to the top of your pot. Add the butter, chicken bullion and pepper.
  2. Cook on low for about 8 hours.
  3. 30 minutes before you are ready to serve dinner, remove the chicken from your crockpot and cut into chunks or shred it up. Place it back in the crockpot and add the egg noodles and the frozen carrots and any other frozen vegetables you wish to add.
  4. It doesn’t take long for the noodles to get soft, so don’t cook for much longer than 30 minutes.

Notes
This recipe is really very customizable to what your family likes or even what you may have in your pantry or freezer. If you prefer a really thick, creamy soup just add some cornstarch or flour to your soup. I usually mix my cornstarch with a little bit of water before I add it to any recipe,

I use about 1/4 of a regular size bag of egg noodles but you could certainly use more or less depending on what your family prefers. You could also use a prepacked frozen bag of noodles.

Leave a Reply

