Movie Review: Oz the Great and Powerful

Oz the Great and PowerfulOver the weekend, I took my daughter to see the highly anticipated Oz the Great and Powerful. Highly anticipated in our house anyway. We saw it in IMAX 3D and as always because we never get there early enough, our seats were pretty low in the theater. Regardless, the 3D graphics were amazing even though we could have been in a better location seat wise.

The Plot

Oscar Diggs (Oz) is a carnival con man in black and white Kansas. During a tornado, Oscar is transported to the magical land of Oz in a hot air balloon. When he arrives in the beautifully colorful Oz, Oscar meets an array of characters including the Witches of Oz. If Oscar defeats the Wicked Witch of Oz, he will become the new ruler and have riches beyond his imagination. However, things are never as they seem in Oz and Oscar must quickly learn who to trust.

My Review

I loved this movie. Back in the early 1980s, Disney had made an Oz sequel that was very dark and scary. This one, while scary for little ones in parts, was very reminiscent of the original 1939 classic. Although I wouldn’t recommend taking children below school age, especially if they scare easily. Originally I was going to take both my 4 and 9-year-old, but decided from previews that my four-year old would probably get to scared and want to go home. Just like he did with Spiderman. So it was a girls day with just my nine-year old. During some scenes, especially when the flying monkeys appeared (more like scary flying apes with big teeth), my daughter got a bit scared.

I really enjoyed the 3D aspect of the movie, it was one of the best 3D movies I’ve seen so far. But keep in mind that if you are taking young children who don’t like to wear the glasses, you might not want to pay extra to see it in 3D.

If you decide to go see Oz the Great and Powerful, have fun, I certainly did. I completely recommend this movie. While it may or may not be true to the Baum books (I haven’t read them), it was still a great family film that you don’t want to miss.

Leave a Reply

