My grilled pizza experience – recipe included

I’ve been hearing a lot about grilled pizza lately. It’s where you grill your pizza instead of baking it. So I decided I would give it a try. How hard could it be, right? So the other day I bought a pre-baked packaged pizza crust at the store. Usually I make my own, like my friend Phoebe does. I don’t have my pizza crust recipe available, but her’s is here.

When I make a pizza, it’s usually loaded with toppings. I didn’t want to put too much toppings on, so I just made a simple hamburger/bacon pizza. Here’s how I did it:

First, I browned 1lb of hamburger and I seasoned it with black pepper, salt, onion powder (not much since I was almost out) and a little bit of oregano. Once it was browned and drained, I added some frozen chopped bell pepper. I mixed it together as the peppers cooked before I added the bacon. When I make pizza, I usually buy the packaged bacon pieces that Oscar Mayer sells in the salad dressing/toppings aisle. But you can cooked up your own bacon and cut it up if you prefer. Once the peppers were added and cooked I added the bacon pieces. While this was cooking, I opened my pizza crust and added the sauce. I didn’t add the whole jar of sauce, I’m not one who likes a real saucy pizza. I added just a little bit of shredded cheddar before putting my toppings on.

Then I encountered a little problem. I had more topping mixture then what would fit on the pizza. The night before was mexican night and I had one large flour tortilla left. So I thought why not use it too. So I went through the process again with the tortilla, using the rest of the meat. I topped both pizzas with shredded cheddar and since I had preheated the grill, all I had to do was put them on. I put the regular crust pizza directly on the grill but I put the tortilla one on foil first. Then I waited.

I didn’t know how they would turn out. I had never made a tortilla pizza before, let alone on the grill. I couldn’t tell you how long I left them on the grill, I didn’t time it. I basically just kept an eye on the pizza, using my spatula to lift the bottom of the regular crust pizza to check the bottom. When I did take it off the grill, the tortilla pizza was perfectly browned and tasted like a thin crust pizza – which my husband loves. I thought it was good, but to me thin crust is like having your pizza toppings on a cracker.

The regular crust pizza was incredible. It was perfectly crispy and the best pizza I’ve ever made. I don’t think I’ll ever bake a pizza again. Even in the winter time – in our house we grill year round, even when it’s snowing. The only thing I would change is that I would put it on foil too instead of directly on the grill. It was a little burnt on the bottom in some spots, but still incredibly delicious.

There are all sorts of recipes out there for pizzas and grilled pizzas. I didn’t research anything before grilling mine and I don’t know if there are certain ways to do it when making your own dough, but I do know that a grilled pizza is the best way to eat a pizza, regardless of what the toppings are. Check out my friend Phoebe’s blog again for her recipe for Apple-Cinnamon dessert pizza. I bet it would be good on the grill too, just saying… 😉

Sorry, I don’t have any pictures for this posting – there wasn’t any pizza left to take pictures of and it didn’t occur to me that I might be writing a blog post about it.

Leave a Reply

