5 Women I want my Daughter to Know

I was looking over a days worth of tweets when I saw one that had been retweeted by the One2One Network:

RT @: Who are the 5 women your daughters should know about? This is my not taught in school list:

So I followed the link to see who @beccasara thought her daughters should know. I liked what she wrote, so I decided that I needed to write a list of my own – inspired by Becca.

1. My Great-Aunt Louise. She raised me. When I was only a year or two, my maternal grandparents adopted me. By the age of 6, they were divorced and before I was 7 the man I consider (and will forever) as my Daddy was dead. He had cancer and he asked his sister to take care of me. And she still does to this day. She is to me, my mother. She raised me longer than any one else who was in that position and my children call her Grandma. She is a force to be reckoned with and at almost 80 – she has worked most of her life with her first official job starting at age 12. She gave me a good life and I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it hadn’t been for her.

2. My Great-Grandma Frazier. She wasn’t really my grandma. She was my aunt’s ex-mother-in-law and she lived with my aunt and helped her take care of me. She made my breakfasts, lunches and most of the time she made dinner. But she treated me as if I were her own granddaughter. She taught me how to sew and how to cook. And although she passed away 12 years ago, her chair is still in the same place and her presence will never be forgotten.

3. Helen Keller. Anyone who can be blind, deaf and mute and still rise to become a inspiration to others deserves to be on this list. Helen struggled as a child to communicate with those around her but overcame what she was unable to do in order to succeed at what she was able to do.

4. Temple Grandin. There are so many misconceptions when it comes to autism. And while I do not know a thing about it – Temple has lived it. Many people assume that because a child has autism, they will never succeed in life. Temple is proof that all those people are wrong. She went to school and received many degrees and revolutionized the cattle slaughter industry. She is an amazing person who despite the trials thrown at her, rose above it to become who she is today. I want my daughter to know that no matter what disability someone may have, they can still be a remarkable person.

5. Me. My daughter will never completely know herself without knowing me first. She came from me, and is in a way just like me. In some way, we all turn into our mothers. By knowing and understanding the struggles I went through in life – she can be a better person than I was or ever will be.

So who are the five women you want your daughters to know?

2 thoughts on “5 Women I want my Daughter to Know

  1. Great post, those are truly amazing and inspiring woman. I watched the movie on Temple Grandin and was very impressed with her. I give her mother all the credit for standing up for her in a time when society didn't understand or know anything about autism.

    I work with preschoolers that have autism so I can really appreciate all her mother went through to help her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

