Country Pumpkin…

I love fall. It is my favorite time of year. The changing leaves, the cooler weather, pumpkin bread. One thing I do not like though, is the rising cost of canned pumpkin. I can’t make my wonderful pumpkin bread and my new love – pumpkin dinner rolls, without it.

But alas, I shall prevail.

I will make my own pumpkin puree. How? Well, I had picked up two pumpkins at Home Depot back in October and my oldest brought home a smaller pumpkin patch pumpkin from her school field trip. So why waste those pumpkins, when I could cook them!

My friend Phoebe, from Cents to Get Debt Free, had a step-by-step guide on how to make your own pumpkin puree. She recommends using a pressure cooker, because it’s faster, but I prefer using the oven. Check out her advice on How to use Fresh Pumpkins.

So exactly how many cups of pumpkin did I end up with? 19! And I only paid $12 total for the pumpkins. It’s nearly $3 for a 29oz can of pumpkin (which has about 3.5 cups). I’d say I did very well.

5 thoughts on “Country Pumpkin…

  1. Well done girl!! I've never done anything with the fresh pumpkin but I have taken the canned stuff and mixed it with vanilla ice cream then put it into a graham cracker pie crust, re freeze and eat later! It's soooooo yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

