Book Review – Big Red Holy Bible

Title: “Big Red” Holy Bible – Contemporary 3-D Art

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

The same “Big Red” Bible that you’ve trusted for 25 years . . . now with updated, fresh, 3-D art for today’s video-game generation.

A full-text of the International Children’s Bible translation with bright Red cover and ALL NEW contemporary art, that was created especially for children ages 6 to 12. “Big Red” has been updated with an all new collection of beautiful full color pages, illustrating treasured Bible stories. Inside the type is big and readable for this age group.

Kids will love having a Bible to take to church that’s easy-to-read and understand!

My Review:

I received this book in the mail a week ago and was excited to show it to my oldest child. While I knew it was a regular Bible, but translated for easy reading for even a 6 year old, I wasn’t expecting it to be as nice as it was. I liked this Bible and the fact that the vocabulary is easy to understand for my 6 yr old. I requested it specifically with her in mind. This version is just like any other Bible, but with elementary aged children in mind.

The pictures are incredible and almost life-like and each picture has the scripture location at the bottom of the page for the corresponding story in the Bible. Although the pictures are not in the same area of where their stories appear, they are in order according to where the scriptures appear in the Bible.

A couple of things I didn’t like, were first, that Jesus’ words are not in red print like most Bibles and second, the Bible is not hardbound. It probably wouldn’t last very long if used often. However, I would still recommend this to any parent wishing to buy a Bible for their 6-12 year old. Although, I would suggest buying a hardbound edition.

*I received a copy of this book to review from BookSneeze, but was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed here are my own.*

One thought on “Book Review – Big Red Holy Bible

Leave a Reply

