How Honest are You?

Let’s take a poll.

If you found a large sum of money, more than your yearly salary alone, would you keep it? Or would you do the honest thing, the right thing, and turn it in?

I would like to think I would do the right thing, and return the money. But somewhere deep down, I am sure I would think to myself “finders keepers, losers weepers.

If you are walking down the street and find a single bill, how much is too much to keep? $1, $5, $10 – or would it be higher? Maybe $50 is too much, or how about $100? If you found $100 laying on the side of the road, would you keep it?

That’s a hard one.

Recently, Essa Khan, a Pakistani man who has worked for 20 years as a custodian at the four-star Gilgit Serena Hotel, at the foot of the Karakorum Mountains in northern Pakistan found $50,000 in a vacant hotel room safe. The amount of money is more than 17 times his yearly salary.

Did he keep it?

No. Being the honest person he is, he turned the money in to hotel management. The hotel spent three days tracking down the rightful owner, an employee of the Japan International Cooperation Agency who hadn’t even realized he left the money behind.

For his honesty, Khan’s employer rewarded him with $10,000 rupees (which is about $164 US Dollars). And the Punjabi Governor, Salman Taseer has invited Khan to Lahore for a ceremony in honor of Khan, calling him a “national hero”.

In the report by the BBC, Khan had the following to say:

“I want people around the world to know that there are many good people in Pakistan — everybody is not a terrorist here.”

What do you think? Would you be as honest as Mr. Khan was, or would you be tempted to keep the cash? Leave me a comment and let me know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “How Honest are You?

  1. I'd do the right thing, as I could not live with myself otherwise. I found a 20 dollar bill leaving a grocery store, turned around and went back inside to give it to the cashier. The lady who lost it was asking that very cashier if anyone found her lost money. I whipped out the 20 and said would this be what you are looking for? OMGosh, you should have seen the relief on her face! She was so grateful and honestly I believe it was all the money she had.

    Thanks for visiting my Blog and for the follow! Right back atch ya!

    Like

  2. If I found a large amount of money I would definitely turn it in. Smaller amounts would just depend upon the situation. Sometimes you find money that would be impossible to find the rightful owner of. If there's a chance of me finding that person, I will always try, because I'd want someone else to do the same for me. :o) I'm visiting from the SITS Girls.

    Like

Leave a Reply

