Beauty Sense…

Having a daughter of my own, it really bothers me they way America is so obsessed with outer beauty. I don’t want my daughter growing up thinking she isn’t pretty enough for this or pretty enough for that. My daughter is beautiful! Too many times, because of what we see on television or in magazines, we as woman feel we aren’t good enough. Beautiful young girls grow up thinking that because they don’t look a certain way, they can never be pretty.

A few years ago, Dove made a video showing the process a photo goes through before making it onto a billboard or magazine cover. It was alarming how much a graphic artist changes a picture before we see it. See for yourself, in this ad from Dove, how they change the way a already beautiful woman looks in a picture.

It really is no wonder why our daughters, sisters, nieces and any other female we know grow up with a distorted sense of beauty. And it wasn’t always like this. For example, this craze with being skinny has only been around for probably the last 20 to 30 years. I remember in high school, my family would give me a hard time and tell me I needed to lose weight because I was a size 10/12 or 14/16. I used to always say – “Marilyn Monroe was a size 16.” Marilyn was a sex goddess to most men from the early 1950s until her death in 1962. And even now, Marilyn is still considered a bombshell – and she wasn’t a size 2.

I hated myself then. I had glasses until my senior year, braces until my sophomore year and at a size 12, I was considered overweight. Looking back on pictures from high school, I didn’t look that bad. I wasn’t the prettiest, but I wasn’t ugly. But, in my mind, I wasn’t pretty at all. I don’t want my daughter growing up, feeling inferior to other girls or hating herself.

While searching youtube for the above video from the Dove ad campaign, I came across this video also from Dove. It basically sums up everything I am trying to say.

*Warning the following video has some graphic scenes and may not be suitable for children.

I try and tell my daughter everyday that she is beautiful and she can do anything. I tell her not to let anyone tell her she is not good enough or that someone is better than her, because in all reality, no one is better than anyone else. Whether you are a size 2 with blond hair and blue eyes or a size 32 with brown hair and brown eyes, you are still beautiful.

For more information on the Dove Campaign for Real Beauty, visit: http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.com/

2 thoughts on “Beauty Sense…

  1. Excellent blog. I really relate – as I have a 19 year old who thinks she's too heavy, too short, and to brunette. She constantly talks about changing her hair, losing weight, and wishing she were taller. But she's a beautiful, brown-eyed, curly-headed, petite (5'3″), average weight gal and from our point of view and most other people's point of view – just perfect the way she is. We really need to pray for our girls to see themselves as God sees them. Thanks for writing this blog.

    Like

  2. Thank you Connie! It bothers me the way everyone views girls and women today. Another thing that bothers me is the way little girls are dressing nowadays. You see 5 year olds dressing like they are 16, when 16 yr olds shouldn't even be dressing like that. But that is another topic for another day. I appreciate you checking out my blog and commenting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

